For Crying Out Loud!

Author: Melanie WAGENAAR

If I had a dollar for every time a newly minted young mother asked me: “Is this normal?” I would currently be listening to the ocean, lying on a perfumed beach towel! I do not allow much airtime to the word “normal” in my practice as a child psychologist. I prefer to work with the idea of what is TYPICAL, what can TYPICALLY be expected. That is how I re-frame the loaded terms: normal/abnormal. Removing them is the first step in putting a parent or a helper’s mind at ease. By the way there is nothing more frightening for a new parent to hear (usually from some well-meaning aunty/uncle/neighbor/aged-relative person) than: “I am sure that can’t be normal …”

This topic addresses crying, more specifically the crying of an infant, so for the purposes of this article let’s begin by unpacking what is meant by “a crying baby”. Envision a red-faced, juddering, almost breathless baby after a session of prolonged crying, not a baby who emits a few cries in a bid to summon a diaper-change, food or a change of room temperature. I am describing ear-piercing and distressing crying that gets the neighbors asking the “Is that NORMAL?” question.

You are not a failure as a parent or a helper if you struggle to settle a crying baby immediately.

What is the best thing to do? As a rule of thumb, DO NOT (in fact let me go so far as to say NEVER!) ignore a distressed baby. All it eventually teaches baby is to eventually give up – help is not forthcoming. You want to create a secure attachment, so pick up baby and COMFORT them. Actively force yourself to NOT tense up and to take calm breaths when you are handling a distressed baby. And never, never shake a baby from frustration. Put on some soothing soft music (this may help you more than the baby), keep the lights relatively low (babies typically settle better in dim surrounds) and speak in a calm, gentle, and confident manner to the baby. Use simple, direct language telling them what you are doing and what you intend doing. Speak confidently as you perform the actions.

 

These are the actions that can be performed:

  • Check if the diaper needs changing
  • Feed baby
  • Wind/burp baby
  • Rock baby gently
  • Sing a lullaby
  • Place baby in a different position or place to sleep. Some babies like to sleep in an area where there is activity, some will only settle in the quietest of places. Experiment. Persevere.
  • Walk with baby in a baby carrier or sling. Some babies settle when they feel the body heat and/or hear the heartbeat of another.
  • Some babies are soothed by a walk in a stroller in the fresh air (Bonus – the parent/helper gets exercise and secondary gains are always great!)
  • Check baby’s temperature. There may be a medical reason for the distress. Remember that not all medical conditions include a spike in temperature, but this is usually a good starting point.
  • Offer a pacifier if this is a decision that all adults are comfortable with
  • Give baby a warm bath

This above list of suggestions is by no means exhaustive. You may have ideas of your own. Trust your instincts – you can do this! At this point I want to add that asking for help should not be a last resort. Whether you are a parent or a helper, never be embarrassed or shy or proud to find another willing adult who will relieve you when it feels as if the baby’s cries have drilled a hole in your brain. Step away for a break after you have found a neighbour/relative/friend adult to assist.

It is also useful to know WHY babies cry and some sure can cry and turn up the volume and increase the heart rate of the caregiver. Not all babies are created equal in that respect, not even mine and I experienced both sides of the crying coin with my two daughters. Some infants are those quick-to-calm babies, those who settle into routines and get through infanthood with little fuss. Others are screamers, and this can simply be attributable to temperament and personality quite frankly. Studies have shown that sometimes it really is the luck of the draw and nothing that one has done as a parent or a helper to cause it.

So, what are some of the reasons for a baby crying? A baby will cry to convey that they need help and that something is wrong. Babies cry when they are frightened, sick, cold, hungry, colicky, are over-tired, feel tension, cannot self-soothe and are in distress – they do not cry to irritate a parent. Ever.

A crying baby must never be subjected to any type of punishment or “consequence”. In fact, a punitive response will only serve to frighten the baby and make things worse. What I used to do with my one screamer was to repeat this mantra in my head as I walked and rocked her back in the day: “This too shall pass”. Thank you to the friend who shared this bit of wisdom with me. I used to say this over and over in my head and it became a reminder to me that this stage, the stage of infancy and having to guess at the source of crying was but a stage. A stage that would pass as all stages do. And it did. But, and here always the warning, if it doesn’t, and your gut is pinging and telling you that there is more going on than a baby exhibiting TYPICAL distress, seek medical advice.

1,000 FAQ
For Crying Out Loud!
FAQ

專家教學

天啊!很多人都問過這個問題!

作者:Mel WAGENAAR
南非教育心理學家, 老師和母親

如果每次有新晉的年輕母親問我:「這是正常嗎?」時,我都能得到一美元,我現在大概會聆聽着大海,躺在香噴噴的沙灘巾上!作為一名兒童心理學家,在我的工作中,我不太喜歡在討論中使用「正常」這個詞。我更喜歡用「典型」這個概念,即可以典型期待的事情。對於「正常/異常」這帶有既定觀點詞語,我是這樣重新定義它的:放棄使用這兩個詞語,是讓家長或幫手放心的第一步。順便說一下,對於一個新家長而言,沒有甚麼比聽到(通常來自一些好心的阿姨/叔叔/鄰居/年長的親戚)這些說話更可怕的了:「我確信這不可能是正常的…」

本專題討論的是哭,更具體地說是嬰兒哭,所以為了本文的目的,讓我們首先解讀一下「嬰兒哭」的含義。想像一個在長時間的哭鬧之後,滿臉通紅、渾身顫抖、幾乎喘不過氣的嬰兒;而不是一個為了叫家長換尿布、食物或改變室溫而發出幾聲哭聲的嬰兒。我描述的是刺耳的、令人痛苦,並讓鄰居問「這正常嗎?」 的哭聲。

如果你難以立即安撫哭泣的嬰兒,作為家長或幫手,並不表示你失敗。

甚麼是最好的處理方法? 作為經驗法則,不要(事實上,我應該說「永遠不要!」)忽視嬰兒的苦惱。它最終教給嬰兒的是「最終放棄」——幫助永遠不會出現。你希望建立一個安全的依戀關係,所以要抱起寶寶,讓他們感到舒適。在處理受驚的嬰兒時,積極地迫使自己不要緊張,並平靜呼吸。還有,永遠不要因感受挫折而搖晃嬰兒。播放一些舒緩的輕音樂(這可能對你的協助比對寶寶的協助更大),保持相對較低的燈光(寶寶通常在昏暗的環境中更好地安頓),以平靜、溫及及自信的方式對寶寶說話。使用簡單直接的語言,告訴他們你在做甚麼,你打算做甚麼。在做這些動作時,要自信地說話。你可以執行這些行動:

  • 檢查是否需要更換尿布
  • 餵養嬰兒
  • 為嬰兒拍嗝
  • 輕輕搖晃寶寶 
  • 唱一首搖籃曲
  • 將寶寶放在不同的位置或地方睡覺。有些嬰兒喜歡在有活動的地方睡覺,有些只在最安靜的地方睡覺。試驗。堅持。
  • 用嬰兒背帶或吊帶帶着孩子走路。有些嬰兒在感覺到體溫及/或聽到另一個人的心跳時就會安頓。
  • 有些嬰兒在新鮮空氣中坐着嬰兒車散步會感到很舒暢(額外好處:家長/幫手得到鍛鍊,一舉兩得總是好主意!)
  • 檢查寶寶的體溫。嬰兒的苦惱可能有醫學上的原因。請記住,並非所有的醫療狀況都包括體溫飆升,但這通常是一個好的起點。
  • 如果這是一個所有成年人都能接受的決定,就提供安撫奶嘴
  • 給寶寶洗個熱水澡

上述建議清單絕非詳盡無遺。你可能有自己的想法。相信你的直覺——你可以做到的!在這一點上,我想補充的是,尋求協助不應該是最後的手段。無論你是家長還是幫手,當感覺寶寶的哭聲在你的大腦中鑽了一個洞時,千萬不要感到尷尬、害羞或自豪,要找到另一個願意為你解困的成年人。在你找到鄰居/親戚/朋友的成年人協助後,走到一邊休息一下。

了解嬰兒哭泣的原因亦是很有用,有些嬰兒會經常哭,而且會提高音量,增加照顧者的心跳率。在這方面,並非所有的嬰兒都是平等,甚至我的嬰兒亦是如此,我與我的兩個女兒都經歷了哭鬧的兩面性。有些嬰兒是那種很快就能平靜的嬰兒,他們能適應常規的生活,幾乎不費吹灰之力就能度過嬰兒期。其他人則是尖叫者,坦率地說,這可能僅僅歸因於氣質及個性。研究表明,有時真正的原因是運氣,而不是作為父母或幫手所做的任何事情。

那麼,嬰兒哭鬧的原因有哪些呢? 嬰兒會用哭聲來表達他們需要協助,有甚麼不對路。嬰兒在受到驚嚇、生病、寒冷、飢餓、絞痛、過度疲勞、感到緊張、不能自我安慰及處於困境時都會哭,他們哭不是為了刺激家長。從來不是。

哭鬧的嬰兒決不能因此遭受任何類型的懲罰或「後果」。事實上,懲罰性的反應只會使嬰兒受到驚嚇,使事情變得更糟。我曾經對我的一個尖叫者做的是,在我走路的時候,在我的腦海裡重複這句咒語,然後拍她的背說:「事情終會過去的」。感謝與我分享這一點智慧的朋友。我曾經在腦海中反覆念叨這句話,它成為對我的一個提醒,這個階段——即嬰兒期及必須猜測哭聲來源的階段——只是一個階段。一個會像所有階段一樣,是會過去的。而其確實過去了。但是,這裏總是有一個警告,如果階段沒有過去,而且你的直覺告訴你,除了嬰兒表現出典型的苦惱之外,還有其他問題,請尋求醫療建議。

幼兒教育1000問
天啊!很多人都問過這個問題!
常見問題